High School Student Athlete of the Year

Presented by: BAHAKEL Sports

2023 HS Student-Athlete of the Year

Alex Walker

Northwest Cabarrus High School


Alex Walker with Adam Zucker and Steve Poston from Bahakel Sports

2022 HS Student-Athlete of the Year

Sean Boyle

Charlotte Catholic High School


2021 HS Student-Athlete of the Year

Jarrett Laney

Buford High School

Jarrett with Jim Szoke

2019 HS Student-Athlete of the Year

Wesley Poindexter

Cox Mill High School

Wesley with Gary Miller from Wendy’s

2018 HS Student-Athlete of the Year

James Shipley

Weddington High School

James with Wendy’s Customer Experience Manager, Ryan Schalles

2017 HS Student-Athlete of the Year

DeMarkes Stradford II

Charlotte Latin School

DeMarkes with Wendy’s Customer Experience Manager, Ryan Schalles

2016 HS Student-Athlete of the Year

Joey Hobbs

Weddington High School

Joey with Wendy’s VP of Operations, Tony Cathcart

2015 HS Student-Athlete of the Year

Keith Duncan

Weddington High School

2014 HS Student-Athlete of the Year

Turner Schwartz

Marvin Ridge High School

with former Carolina Panthers fullback Brad Hoover

Alex Walker

Quarterback, Northwest Cabarrus High School

Each year, the Charlotte Touchdown Club honors a student-athlete who has not only exhibited excellence on the field but has also excelled in the areas of leadership, sportsmanship, scholarship, and citizenship as well. The recipient is selected from hundreds of outstanding student-athletes from more than 80 local high schools.

This year’s recipient of the Student-Athlete of the Year Award presented by Bahakel Sports is Alex Walker, a quarterback from Northwest Cabarrus High School.

A four-year starter, Walker was elected team captain for his Junior and Senior seasons. During his Junior season, Walker led his team to a conference championship and was selected to the South Piedmont All-Conference squad. Walker was also named Northwest Cabarrus Offensive Player of the Year that season while tossing 19 touchdown passes, rushing for 7 touchdowns, and amassing 2,457 total passing yards. Through the first seven games of his senior campaign, Walker is credited with 18 touchdown passes, 4 rushing TDs, and 1,510 total passing yards. Walker also earned Charlotte Observer Player of the Week honors in 2022 and 2023.

Walker’s classroom honors include National Honor Society and Northwest Beta Club memberships for both his Junior and Senior years. Walker was one of 16 top academic performers chosen as a Junior Year Marshall to assist with the 2022 graduation ceremony and he has also earned memberships in the National Technical Honor Society and Northwest Cabarrus Academy of Health Sciences program.

Walker is also very active in the community. He is a founding member of the Northwest Cabarrus High School Dream on 3 Team and volunteers at the annual Laurel Park Triathlon, the Cabarrus Area Tar Heel Kids Consignment Sale and as a reader to children at local elementary schools for Reach Across America.

The Charlotte Touchdown Club and Bahakel Sports are proud to recognize Alex Walker as this year’s Student Athlete of the Year Award.

The Award:

In 1994, the Charlotte Touchdown Club initiated the High School Student Athlete of the Year Award. This award is given annually to an area high school football player who has excelled in the four areas of our charter: Scholarship, Sportsmanship, Leadership, Citizenship.

We feel the sport of football teaches young men the very fundamentals that inspire the growth of our future leaders. Because of that belief, we provide financial support to more than eighty regional high school athletic programs in the greater Charlotte region. Each high school who has nominated a finalist for the Student Athlete of the Year Award will receive a $750.00 honorarium directed to their athletic department in the name of that school’s finalist. The winner’s school will receive a $2,000.00 honorarium, directed to the athletic department, in the name of the award recipient.

Award Criteria

All applicants must be in their senior year of high school football and have a cumulative grade point average of 2.5. Five specific areas are evaluated on each applicant. These areas are:

  • Scholarship
  • Athletic Achievements
  • Sportsmanship
  • Leadership
  • Citizenship

The winner is chosen by a review panel selected by the Charlotte Touchdown Club and recognized with a trophy at the Bronko Nagurski Trophy Awards Presentation in December. All finalists will receive a plaque designating them as a finalist for this award.