* High School Student-Athlete of Year


* High School Comeback Player of Year


* High School Defensive Player of Year


* High School Leadership Award


* High School Coach of the Year


Awards Presented at 2017 Bronko Nagurski Trophy Awards Banquet


CHARLOTTE, NC (November 2nd, 2017) – The Charlotte Touchdown Club announced today numerous awards recognizing area football players and coaches for excellence on the field, in the classroom, in the community and for overcoming adversity.


Charlotte Latin School’s DeMarkes Stradford II was named the recipient of the Student-Athlete of the Year Award sponsored by Wendy’s.


Mt. Pleasant High School’s Hayden Radford was tabbed the Thomas Davis Comeback Player of the Year sponsored by Novant Health Sports Medicine.


Shelby High School’s Dax Hollifield garnered the Luke Kuechly Defensive Player of the Year Award sponsored by CPI Security.


South Point High School’s Riley Nichols received the High School Leadership Award sponsored by the Carolina Panthers.


Tim Carson, Head Football Coach at Weddington High School was named the Coach of the Year sponsored by Red Clay Industries.


All of the above winners will formally accept their award during the annual Bronko Nagurski Trophy Awards Banquet presented by ACN scheduled for Monday, December 4th at the Charlotte Convention Center.


The keynote address for the banquet will be given by University of Georgia Head Football Coach, Kirby Smart. University of Notre Dame great from the Class of 1976, Ross Browner, will receive this year’s Bronko Nagurski Legends Award presented by Florida East Coast Railway and the Defender of the Nation Award presented by The Independence Fund will go to Virginia Military Institute’s Greg Sanders.

CBS Sports Network host Adam Zucker will serve as Master of Ceremonies for this year’s Bronko Nagurski Trophy Award Banquet and a CBS Sports Network broadcast of the event is scheduled for primetime Thursday, December 7th.


The Bronko Nagurski Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence, and prestige of the game’s predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association’s official website, www.NCFAA.org

The Charlotte Touchdown Club is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization founded in 1990 for the purpose of promoting high school, collegiate, and professional football in the Charlotte, North Carolina region. Since its inception, the club has grown as well as diversified boasting a sponsor team of more than (80) companies.  The Club’s activities and services focus community attention on the outstanding Citizenship, Scholarship, Sportsmanship, and Leadership of area athletes and coaches.  Through individual and corporate support, more than $2,000,000 has been raised to benefit the Touchdown Club’s scholarship efforts.


About ACN, Inc.

Founded in 1993, ACN is the world’s largest direct seller of telecommunications and essential services for residential and business customers. ACN provides the services people need and use every day including Home Phone Service, High-Speed Internet, Wireless, Television, Home Security & Automation, Computer Support and Natural Gas and Electricity. ACN operates in 25 countries with offices located throughout North America, Latin America, Europe, Asia and the Pacific. For more information, visit myacn.com. For information on ACN’s home-based business opportunity, visit acninc.com


About Florida East Coast Railway

FECR is a regional freight railroad that extends along a 351-mile corridor between Jacksonville, Fla., and Miami, Fla., with exclusive rail access to the Port of Palm Beach, Port Everglades (Ft. Lauderdale) and the Port of Miami. For more information, http://www.fecrwy.com.


About Electrolux

Electrolux is a global leader in appliances for household and professional use, selling more than 50 million products to customers in more than 150 countries every year. The company focuses on innovations that are thoughtfully designed, based on extensive consumer insight, to meet the real needs of consumers and professionals. Electrolux products include refrigerators, dishwashers, washing machines, vacuum cleaners, cookers and air-conditioners sold under esteemed brands such as Electrolux, Frigidaire, Kelvinator, AEG, and Eureka. In 2012, Electrolux had sales of $17 billion ($5.1 billion in North America) and 58,000 employees. The Electrolux North American headquarters is located at 10200 David Taylor Drive, Charlotte, NC 28262 in the University Research Park.  For more information visit http://newsroom.electrolux.com/us/.


About The Independence Fund


The Independence Fund is a nonprofit organization that empowers our nation’s severely wounded veterans and the caregivers who support them to take control of their lives. Through its dedicated mobility and treatment programs, the Fund assists veterans in transforming their lives toward a better future. The Independence Fund believes we owe it to our veterans to provide the resources they need to move forward and build a strong foundation for lasting emotional and physical healing in order to reestablish their independence. To learn more, visit www.independencefund.org.


The Bronko Nagurski Trophy is presented annually by the Charlotte Touchdown Club in conjunction with the Football Writers Association of America to the nation’s most outstanding NCAA Division I defensive football player at the Bronko Nagurski Awards Banquet in Charlotte, NC.  All proceeds benefit the Charlotte Touchdown Club Scholarship Fund.


FOR MORE INFORMATION CALL 704-347-2918 or visit  www.touchdownclub.mysites.io.



Where Citizenship, Scholarship, Sportsmanship & Leadership are Honored