Weddington High School’s Will Cobb to be honored at December 9th Bronko Nagurski Awards Banquet

CHARLOTTE, NC (November 7th, 2019) – The Charlotte Touchdown Club announced today, Will Cobb of Weddington High School, as the recipient of the 2019 Michael A. Kahn High School Community Service Scholastic Scholarship Award presented by the Michael A. Kahn Family Foundation.

This prestigious award is presented to a high school senior scholar athlete who best exemplifies the spirit of community stewardship, academic excellence and accomplishment on the football field.  Will Cobb has demonstrated a commitment to the classroom, community and athletics and will receive a $40,000 scholarship provided in $10,000 annual grants upon their continuation of community service and academic achievement in college.

“While there were many outstanding candidates for the award,” commented Michael A. Kahn, “Will most embodied what this award is all about. Will is both an outstanding student & athlete at Weddington High School and yet he shines the brightest in his commitment to helping young people with special needs. It is truly an honor to have Will Cobb be the recipient of the 2019 award.”

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy is presented annually by the Charlotte Touchdown Club in conjunction with the Football Writers Association of America to the nation’s most outstanding NCAA Division I defensive football player at the Bronko Nagurski Awards Banquet in Charlotte, NC.  All proceeds benefit the Charlotte Touchdown Club Scholarship Fund.

The Charlotte Touchdown Club is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization founded in 1990 for the purpose of promoting high school, collegiate, and professional football in the Charlotte, North Carolina region. Since its inception, the club has grown as well as diversified boasting a sponsor team of more than (80) companies.  The Club’s activities and services focus community attention on the outstanding Citizenship, Scholarship, Sportsmanship, and Leadership of area athletes and coaches.  Through individual and corporate support, more than $2,000,000 has been raised to benefit the Touchdown Club’s scholarship efforts.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game’s predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association’s official website, www.NCFAA.org.

FOR MORE INFORMATION CALL 704-347-2918 or visit www.touchdownclub.mysites.io

Where Citizenship, Scholarship, Sportsmanship & Leadership are Honored